Category Archives: News

CGA 2017 NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Season Preview


2017 Preview

By: Logan Bradley –

2017 will be defined as a chase. The Oklahoma Sooners will chase their third
consecutive national championship, something that hasn’t been done since Nebraska
won five in a row from 1979-83. Every other team in the NCAA will participate in their
own chase to dethrone the Sooners. One thing’s for certain, each team faces an
extremely uphill battle.

Along with comprehensive team summaries, I’ve included some insight as to who the
top competitors on each event might be come NCAA Championship time…


CGA Announces 2017 Preseason Coaches Poll

The 2017 Preseason NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Poll has been announced today by the College Gymnastics Association (CGA). Back-to-back reigning National Champion Oklahoma returns as No. 1 in 2017 with 377 points and 17 first-place votes.

Stanford follows Oklahoma as No. 2 in the polls with 377 points and 1 first-place vote. The Cardinal was runner-up in 2016 as they tallied their 10th top-three finish in the past 11 years.

Ohio State enters 2017 ranked No. 3 in the country. The Buckeyes’ bronze finish at the 2016 NCAA Championship was their highest team finish in over ten years.

Minnesota earns the No. 4 preseason ranking as we look to 2017. The Gophers finished sixth at last year’s championship meet, but return 18 of 20 on their roster, including three All-Americans.

The Fighting Illini come in at No. 5 in the preseason poll with 309 points. Illinois placed fourth last season, and return their pommel horse national champion, Brandon Ngai.

Penn State rounds out the top six with 263 points. The Nittany Lions have a nation-leading 12 NCAA titles.

“As the 2017 pre-season preparation phase winds down, and the season is close to starting there is a lot of anticipation among all the NCAA teams this year,” CGA President Mike Burns said. “The battle for the National Title, as well as the top six spots in the NCAA Super Six, will be a real knock down, drag out affair this year as it has been almost every year.”

Fans can follow all the action of the NCAA Men’s Gymnastics season by visiting where meet results and schedules can be found along with a multitude of team statistics. The CGA website is also part of Road To Nationals and that website can be found at or linked directly from the Road To Nationals website.

“With a new Code of Points being instituted by the FIG this year we should be seeing some new looks to the routines out there this season,” Burns said. “These student-athletes have been working hard this fall to put their skills on display, and they are excited to get underway shortly after the first of the new year.”

See full poll here

CGA Nissen-Emery Award Finalists Announced

WEST POINT, N.Y. – The eight finalists for the 2016 College Gymnastics Association (CGA) Nissen-Emery Award, considered the Heisman Trophy of Gymnastics, were announced Wednesday.

This year’s finalists are Army West Point’s Jesse Glenn, California’s Kevin Wolting, Logan Bradly of Illinois, Iowa’s Jack Boyle, Nebraska’s Ethan Lottman, Oklahoma’s Kanji Oyama, Penn State’s Trevor Howard and Stanford’s Brian Knott.

Those in the running include NCAA All-Americans, academic All-Americans, USA Gymnastics Collegiate All-Americans, national champions, scholar athletes, conference champions and National Team members.

This year’s winner will be announced during the CGA Awards Banquet, which is being held at the Boat House at Confluence Park on Thursday, April 14th, 8 p.m. ET, in Columbus, Ohio, where the NCAA Championships are being hosted by Ohio State University.

The highest honor in collegiate gymnastics, the Nissen-Emery award has been presented annually since 1966 to an outstanding senior collegiate gymnast based on his achievement, sportsmanship and academic excellence.

The original Nissen Award was named in honor of George Nissen, a former NCAA champion, for his contributions to men’s gymnastics. The award was re-named the Nissen-Emery Award in 1998 to honor Dr. Robert Emery, a Penn State graduate, who won the Nissen Award in 1969.

College gymnastics head coaches all across the nation are requested each year to submit nominations for the award. Gymnasts receiving a 50% vote of confidence from the head coaches are then placed on a final ballot and voted upon by the coaches, team captains, Honorary Lifetime Members, and conference judges.

The award is inscribed with the motto: “The true champion seeks excellence physically, mentally, socially and morally.”

2016 Nissen-Emery Award Finalists:
Jesse Glenn (Army West Point)
Kevin Wolting (California)
Logan Bradley (Illinois)
Jack Boyle (Iowa)
Ethan Lottman (Nebraska)
Kanji Oyama (Oklahoma)
Trevor Howard (Penn State)
Brian Knott (Stanford)

View Full Finalist Info Here